Brainport Eindhoven op het shirt van PSV.

Nederlandse topbedrijven en PSV slaan handen ineen voor Brainport Eindhoven.

Lees meer over deze innovatieve, vernieuwende samenwerking

New EIT Innovation Community on Urban Mobility with Innovation Hub in Helmond, Brainport Eindhoven

07 december 2018

The European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) has designated the MOBiLus consortium as the winning Innovation Community on Urban Mobility on December 5th 2018. The consortium consists of 48 partners: 13 cities, 17 industry partners and 18 universities and research centres across Europe and beyond.

Have a look at the EIT factsheet on Mobility for Liveable Urban Spaces

EIT Innovation Communities are dynamic and creative partnerships that harness European innovation and entrepreneurship to find solutions to major societal challenges in areas with high innovation potential, in this case Urban Mobility.

The aim of MOBiLus is to strengthen European competitiveness, improve access to mobility and increase attractiveness of cities. The motto of the consortium “Mobility for Liveable Urban Spaces” is about moving people, connecting communities, serving businesses and re-imaging public spaces. The Mobilus approach addresses five strategic objectives:

  • Being Europe’s driver for knowledge and innovation in mobility
  • Training the next generation of urban mobility practioners
  • Leveraging and upgrading ideas for deployment
  • Accelerating tomorrow's mobility solutions to Europe and beyond

The operation will last seven years, has a financial volume of 1.6 billion Euro, with up to 25% (or up to 400 million Euro) funded by the EIT. First results can be expected in 2020.

The operation will be managed by the headquarters in Barcelona (Spain) and five so-called Innovation Hubs in Copenhagen (Denmark), Prague (Czech Republic), Munich (Germany), Barcelona (Spain) and Helmond (Netherlands).

The MOBiLus consortium is composed of the following partners:


City of Amsterdam, City of Barcelona, City of Copenhagen, City of Eindhoven, City of Hamburg, City of Helmond, City of Helsinki, City of Istanbul, City of Milan, City of Munich, City of Prague, City of Stockholm, City of Tel Aviv.

Universities and Research Centres:

Aalto University, Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Metropolitan Solutions, Budapest University of Technology and Economics CARNET, Czech Technical University ENEA, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Eindhoven University of Technology, Fraunhofer Society, Institute of Information Theory and Automation, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, NFF, Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Technical University of Denmark, Technical University of Munich, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, University College London.


Achmea, Altran, Amadeus, BMW, Colruyt Group, E.ON, MOL, Oracle, SEAT, Siemens, Skoda Auto, TASS International, TomTom, Tractebel, UnternehmerTUM, Volkswagen Truck & Bus, Zone Cluster.

Source: The European Institute of Innovation and Technology